Posted by: Tinsley | August 2, 2007

Blooming Friendships

I have been stressing to the max since yesterday. As you know my roomie is out of state working for awhile. Well, he shorted me $60 for his garage rent, so guess who’s pocket it had to come out of. Yup. Not. Happy. He will pay me back and everything, but it’s just the whole lack of responsibility on his half that gets me. I’m already short on funds because the doctor cost me over $250 which isn’t even all paid yet. I’ve got 3 1/2 months left on this lease, and I have a feeling I’m going to end up having to move again. I don’t even want to talk about it anymore because it will just get me upset all over again.

I’ve been working on my socialization as of late. I’ve met some people online here that I plan on meeting up with. Don’t worry, any meetings will be in very public places. I think on Friday I’m meeting this guy B out at the Riverwalk for cocktails. He’s been wanting to meet for a week now, so I said I could probably venture out for a bit Friday night. I prefer the Riverwalk because I can take my furbaby there. When he’s been alone all day with me at work, it would be inconsiderate of me to leave him alone all night as well. Thus, the Riverwalk is always the perfect solution. Did I mention he gets all the attention from the ladies? 😉

Even though it is still a bit too hot for my desire to be outdoors when water isn’t involved, I’m trying my best to step out of my comfort zone. I’m sure you are all familiar with or have at least heard of Meetup. I have found a few meetups of interest that I have penciled in on the calendar. Nothing is in ink, but I will be receiving the invites on a few groups include a photography and dachshund meetup.

I’ve also been chatting with this lady that I met online as well. I decided about a month ago to step outside of the box of traditional ways of making friends, and placed an ad in the ‘Strictly Platonic’ section that read as follows:

I am a kind woman who is fairly new to the area. I am a bit of a homebody, so making friends often presents a challenge. Things I look for in my friendships are honesty, kindness, a sense of humor and acceptance.

I am currently a single gal as I am just concentrating on getting settled in for the time being. I have a lot of male friends, but as you know every woman needs at least one good girlfriend.

I like to surf the web, read, write, shop, go out to dinner/lunch and take pictures. I enjoy hanging out at the Riverwalk watching the entertainment and wandering around Barnes & Noble.

Things I loath are liars, cheaters, people with double standards and golddiggers. If you are looking to make some new friends please feel free to drop me a line 🙂

Hopefully it didn’t sound too bitchy, but I’ve always felt honesty is generally the best approach. Yes? It couldn’t have been too bad because I’ve actually gotten several emails from women who are also looking to make new friends.

Anyhoo, this woman I’ve been chatting with, A, seems very nice. We are planning on meeting up soon at this place called Woodward Park. This place is absolutely huge and includes a rose garden and rock garden. It’s a great place for a friendship to begin complete with doggie on leash and camera. I’m more excited for this that anything else.

Glancing at the clock it is time to put this post (and this girl) to bed. The alarm will be blasting away music before I know it, so it’s time to turn in. Enjoy your thirsty Thursday!

Responses

  1. Sucks about your roomie shafting you – hopefully all will get straightened out.
    Glad to hear that you are getting out and about and meeting new people – thats always a good thing 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

