Posted by: Tinsley | July 19, 2007

Just DON’t Do it!

If you haven’t already heard the buzz about Nike and that asshat Michael Vick, please read this post from Jennsylvania.

I WANT to call for a boycott against Nike, Inc. but I’m waiting for their response on whether or not they plan to continue to have dog-killing thugs endorsing their products, MICHAEL VICK.

Hey!  While I was writing this entry, I got an email back from Nike:

There is no change in the status of the agreement between Nike and football player Michael Vick. Nike will continue to monitor the situation, but has nothing further to say at this time.

We appreciate that you took the time to contact us and your feedback will be passed along to the proper department.

Sincerely,

Nike

Oh, Nike…

It is SO FUCKING ON.

Are you disgusted they’ve yet to part ties with Michael Vick?  Then please let them know!

One Bowerman Drive
Beaverton, OR 97005-6453
Phone: 1-800-344-6453

or

NIKE, Inc.
USA Consumer Services
PO Box 4027
Beaverton, OR 97076-4027

or

Click here for the email form you can use to tell Nike you don’t buy products from corporations who ipso facto endorse dog fighting.

Please cut, paste and repost this information to spread the word.

After being briefed of the story, I did just that and wrote Nike myself.

Dear Nike,

After learning of Michael Vick’s association with dog fighting, it is with great regret that I must discontinue the use and purchase of Nike products. I always thought Nike endorsed such great messages and positive types of people, but I find Vick’s support and promotion of dog fighting to be absolutely horrifying. I hope you will reconsider using Vick as the type of role model and spokesman that you want for your product.

Sincerely,
Tinsley

Responses

  1. Nike is a bunch of shmucks…see if I buy there stuff again – ever. I still can’t believe that people would ever be involved in something like dog fighting…its just sick and cruel.

  2. Hi guys,

    I would like to just say that, my best friend works for the Nike number that everyone is calling and that everyone needs to be a lot nicer to the people answering your calls. They all are on our side there, they just can’t state their opinion due to their jobs. They started receiving the calls from us 3 days ago and a majority of us that are calling in are being very mean to those people taking our calls. We are being so mean that we are making those people just doing their job actually cry. It is not their fault that Nike is still sponsoring Vick. We really need to be a lot nicer to the nike people taking our calls. We should be happy that they are actually listening to us and sending our opinions to oregon.

    While I think it’s great that you are sticking up for your friend, I’m not quite sure who it is you are addressing. I can’t say I personally know of anyone who has called any Nike number. Even so, if I were to ever make such a phone call, I am always nothing but courteous to the voice on the other end. I think it’s horrible that consumers would actually go as far as making someone cry. Always keep in mind that they aren’t necessarily endorsing what their employer is. If you must critic something, always do so constructively. Thanks Renee.


Leave a Reply

Categories

