Posted by: Tinsley | July 15, 2007

Bambi & Family

So rather than having to write everything out again, I’m going to start off by letting you read the email I got from my mother after shamefully informing her of my bad fortune.

Dear Tinsley,

I feel really bad about your back. I know you have been so happy and trying really hard. I’m sorry it didn’t work out especially since you loved the work. It is not the end of the world. Like you said you have your friends, your dog, your apartment and parents who love you. How is your back doing now. This is just a temporary set-back, you just can’t do a job that requires you to be on your feet for too long. Do not despair, you tried something new and different and it just didn’t work. Your health has to come first. Maybe you don’t think working in an office, being a receptionist, or making appointments is glamorous, will guess again. The world needs efficient and friendly people behind the desks and on the telephones to make it happen. Look in the phone book for an acupuncturist if you need one. You have been doing great. Don’t give up. I love “hearing” your smile over the phone. I am proud of you.

Love Mom

This was a reply she had sent to the message I sent her. After worrying about not hearing from me for a few days, I emailed her to tell her my back had gone out. I was too ashamed to call them and tell them because as a result I had to leave my new job. I have had about three amazing months with no problems from what I had thought was a thing of the past. It apparently isn’t, so I am back to office work I guess. I don’t want to talk about it anymore, so let us move on.

If you haven’t visited me on Flickr recently, you may not know I have chopped off all my hair. I have all the dark rinsed out finally, so it is somewhat close to normal in color again. I’ve posted quite a few new photos, so if you are bored have a looksie. Here’s the new me.

I’m not a short hair person. Never have been. I’m actually digging it though. Wonder how long that will last. Speaking of photos, I need to take a new one of Bambi. Do you all remember Bambi? He is my bamboo plant. When I got him he was just short of a foot tall. He also is an Aquarius and carries ancient wisdom from the far East.

Anyways, I am planning to take his updated portrait soon so you can see his progress. He has outgrown his ‘birth pot’ and has been transplanted into a large vase. Inside this large vase, I have my two newest pets. They have yet to be named, so we will call them Boy Beta and Girl Beta. I wanted a whole bunch of fish to give my bedroom the whole tranquil feel, but I decided with Bambi inside of their house, they are bound to mate and save money 😉

This is unfortunately the most exciting news I have for you since my last post. When my back acts as it has been, life slows down a lot for me. It’ s been a lot of taking it easy, icing, and reading on my part. A more positive note is that my friend JP seems to be doing better lately. He’s been working a lot more and not drinking as much. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. I will continue to keep my fingers crossed and prayers plentiful.

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Aside from the back, mine has been good. It was very convenient timing that my magazine subscriptions arrived the day after my physical health went down the shitter. Amen to that! I pose a question for my ending note; what do you do when you are restricted to bed-rest? Believe me, sooner or later I will may run out of things to do online. Smooches!

Responses

  1. that is a total bummer, luv! keep me posted and know that i am thinking of you!

  2. Glad to hear that your mom was understanding – here is to hoping something fabulous comes your way – keep your chin up!

  3. sorry to hear about the job. glad mom is understanding!

    i always had fish as a kid. now with kitties i’m not sure i can have any. lol. i know i can get a closed tank but who wants fish when ya got cats! LOL

    It’s been interesting. I think Bam Bam is bothering Pebbles because she has ripped his beautiful fins to shreds. Why do men never seem to understand that no means no 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

