Posted by: Tinsley | July 1, 2007

Get With the Program

After much huffing and puffing as well as many hours spent in the mirror hatin’ on myself, I made a decision. It was not something I decided easily. I have never attempted to do anything of the nature before, so careful thought was required. I’ve joined WW.

Some people who know me may be rolling their eyes thinking ‘why in the world would she do such a thing’. To me that is actually flattering. I love that people don’t notice all the rolls and cellulite that I spend a fair amount of time to cover up.

Truth be told however, it is I who must live with this outer shell my creator has supplied me with. After the last year of have little mobility and those horrible steroid injections, my outer shell has gone to shit. I just simply cannot tolerate it any longer which is what was the ultimate decider in the decision to join.

So far, so good. I’ve been to my first meeting (yesterday), and officially started my counting today. I had lunch today at Applebee’s since they have a WW menu. My taste buds were pleasantly surprised by the Onion soup Au Gratin and Teriyaki Steak & Shrimp Skewers. Yummy! Moving on.

After my outing to Applebee’s I went across 71st to my temple, aka Barnes & Noble. I can’t be sure how long I was in there. Three days could pass by and I wouldn’t have a clue. If it weren’t for the Starbucks I was sipping on I could have easily laid down between bookshelves and taken a nap as I inhaled the smell of books. Once I finally forced myself out the doors I headed for home sweet home.

After relaxing at home for awhile and reading nearly an entire book, I made my final step in operation WW. I compiled what I found to be a well rounded grocery list. I do my shopping at the Neighborhood Wally World just behind the apartment, so I was worried they wouldn’t have much of a selection of products. I was pleasantly surprised at what they did carry, and the rest I improvised by reading the nutrition labels on the packaging.

Now I can go to sleep tonight not having to worry about having the proper foods to accommodate my daily point intake. I am doing pretty well so far, so I can only pray that my commitment to the program works. Wish me luck kiddies, I’ll need it!

Responses

  1. i am so happy for you, girly! i hope you enjoy it as much as i have been enjoying.
    whole wheat tortilla and 1/4 cup of ff cheese and salsa make an AMAZING 2 pt quesadilla!
    i can share food tips all day…got any to get me more active? lol

    Thanks girlie! That sounds tasty! As far as activity, summertime is the time to cash in on stuff that really is more fun than exercise: gardening, swimming, making a sandcastle, etc. It’s stuff you don’t even realize your getting a workout while doing it!

  2. Thanks for getting my flickr to work on my blog!! Your the best. Been quite busy with the Kiddos and Mike at home today doing the family thing, but will call you when I get freed up!
    P.S. Still think you look great WW or no WW – but support you 100% as always 🙂

    No prob! Glad I got it working 😉

  3. Alright – another fellow WW’er! I joined through work about 4 weeks ago. I have to say I am not doing so well on the weekends. I bust my ass counting all my points and crap during the work week, but come the weekend? ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE! Points schmoints! I’ve not been tracking on the weekends and pretty much completely undo all my hard work from the weekend. Plus, still not exercising much. So I’ve only lost 5 lbs. I have another 30 to go 😦 I gotta get a grip on the weekends. I do have to say that the program works if you work it though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

