Posted by: Tinsley | February 19, 2007

Call Me Super Fly!

Finally some nice weather has graced us. The snow is melting and it almost feels like spring! I love days like this. I’ve got a busy day ahead of me of errand running and major cleaning. The house has gotten caught up in the tornado of chaos in everyday life.

I would be lying if I said I haven’t been having fun though. Life has been extremely enjoyable recently leaving me with little to complain about. I was running around like crazy yesterday. I met up with Boyfriend for Sunday brunch. I normally am not a lover of breakfast foods, but I decided to be daring and go for it this time around. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised after I dove into my breakfast bowl filled with eggs, bacon, and potatoes. I even did the unheard of and ate a pancake. I have no officially gotten my breakfast food fix for the month.

My rings were in need of cleaning, so after brunch we headed out to the mall where I could do that and burn off some of those breakfast calories. I waited in line for what seemed like forever. Finally after being waited on, Boyfriend called me over to the other end of the jewelry store. My first thought was what is he doing in the diamond section??? Of course the sales lady rushes right over in the name of diamonds and he has her pull out a ring set. Okay. So apparently he does want to get married at some point. Shock to the system.

Anyways, I tried on the ring, which was absolutely beautiful. We looked at both a solitary and princess cut with the side stones on the second ring. I can’t tell you how hard it was to keep my cool. Not only had I completely put marriage out of my mind for the sake of not obsessing about it, but I was have been under the impression that it was light years away.

Yeah. Oh. My. God. Anyways, I did the trying on while he asked the sales lady all sorts of questions. I was kind of trying to be preoccupied looking at other stuff because I didn’t want to look like an excited school girl about to pee her pants. We left when he was finished doing his thing, and I haven’t spoken about it since. I mean, what do I say? I still feel the aftershock of being so caught off-guard.

To distract myself from the whole incident, we headed down to the department stores while we waiting for me rings to get cleaned. I was pleased as punch to see it was gift day at the Clinique counter. I ran out of my concealer and was in need of a new tube. I skipped happily away toting my new cosmetics bag which contained eyeshadow, mascara, eye liner, and lipstick. Free stuff is bomb ass! Goddess bless the cosmetic gods!

As the day went on, it just got better. While picking up some dayquil wasn’t particularly exciting, sledding and snowboarding were. Boyfriend and I went and picked up his youngest son, M, and headed to a popular spot over by the park. Not owning a pair of snow pants, I had on some of Boyfriend’s which made me look and feel like a sumo wrestler. In any event, it did not effect the fun we had. We went up and down with the remaining sunlight as well as some spills. You can see me and M making our way up the slope for another round.

Sledding

After tackling the snow quit aggressively, it was time to get changed into some dry clothes. After we were all freshened up we headed to pick of J, Boyfriend’s oldest son, for a night of bowling. It was definitely good times! I’m not the best bowler, but it never stops me from having fun. You can see by my lack of enthusiasm, I didn’t do quite as well as I wanted to.

Bowl

Do you see the shame I am displaying as I stomp on the ground? Teee heee! Who cares. It was a blast. Me and my boys all had a great time, and I wouldn’t have changed any of it (other than the two nails I broke). I love doing that type of stuff because I feel like I actually am part of the family and know my place. The boys bring so much into my life that I wouldn’t experience otherwise. I’m so grateful for them.

Now that my knees are all bruised and nails broken off, it is time to take it easy for the day. The acupuncturist awaits my arrival, and I’m sure he’ll think of been in a brawl with my new ouchies 😉 It’s no matter though, because yesterday is one of the best days I’ve had in ages, and I’ve got many more to look forward to!

Responses

  1. oooh! looking at the sparklies! oooh!

    i *heart* free gift time at clinique!

    if i could only eat one type of food for, say, a week, i would pick breakfast stuff. i regularly eat cereal for dinner. i crave pancakes frequently. right now i am thinking of making french toast. apparently, this is where you and i cease to be sistahs from anotha motha. 😉

  2. Oddly enough I miss sledding. If I could only go sledding and then return to the beach I would be quite happy!
    Looks like you had a great time – makes me miss having the boys here even more.

  3. Have you vanished again? Come back….I need stuff to read 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

