Posted by: Tinsley | February 10, 2007

Winter Germs from Cupid

While most are out probably breaking the rules and a drink or two away from a D.U.I., I am nestled safely inside wrapped in a blanket. I was off today which with my health worked out perfectly. After being ill for the last week, Boyfriend finally got me to go to the doctor to have a look over. I wasn’t overly surprised to learn that I have a sinus infection and bronchitis. I could feel it with the heaviness of my head and the crackling cough that has turned my voice raw. The script was written, and on my way I went.

Boyfriend arrived at my place shortly after six. After showering and cleaning up, we headed out to Tao for some grub. I haven’t had much of an appetite, but I knew I had to eat something. I did my best concentrating mostly on the greens to promote good health. Boyfriend cut away at a Sirloin tasting much to his delight, something I hope to be able to do again soon.

While the night is still young, I have no desire to be about making merry. I am in good company with my dog, a bag of cough drops, and tall glass of water. I sent Boyfriend out with his friends so that I could take it easy. He will come home just on time for us to crawl into bed.

I haven’t much else planned for the weekend other than getting well. I’ve been getting all the final details taken care of for the approach of Valentine’s Day. The boys will be getting a sack full of goodies with their cards, and plenty of activities. I also made a batch of Valentine’s for my friend Lisha and her girls. Hopefully I didn’t overdue it on the candy this holiday like I did at Halloween time.

I got a text from a girlfriend the other day. Thing is, we haven’t talked in weeks. She had wronged me a month or so ago, and things haven’t been the same since. I have of course forgiven her and moved past it, but she seems to be having a harder time with it than I am. It’s odd. She knows by my words and actions that things are okay, yet it’s as though she can’t bare to carry on as we were because it reminds her of what she did. I am saddened by it, but I’m not going to beg someone who crossed me to go back to the way we were. I know in time, she will realize that the people she is surrounding herself with do not have her best interest at heart, nor do they care for her as a dear friend should. I just hope she keeps her head on her shoulders and doesn’t let anyone steer her off track. Whether or not we ever go back to what we were, I will always love her like a sister, no matter what.

I have a carnival to go to tomorrow with M at his school, so I need to be feeling decent. That kid is such a blast. We have the greatest of times together. I cannot wait for the day when he is my stepson. I love him. Speaking of love, the big day is just around the corner. Boyfriend and I are planning on dinner for starters. Where we go from there is still up in the air. I voted for a movie or bowling, but I’m sure we will end up running into friends and getting caught up in cocktails. As long as we are in good company, I don’t mind what we do. I’ve got the candy packaged, and the cards signed and sealed with a kiss. I hope you all have a lovely Valentine’s Day next week!


Responses

  1. Sorry you are feeling icky – guess that is not surprise for you with as cold as its been there. Hope you are feeling better 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories